Chicken Flautas with Green Enchiladas Sauce

I think I shared in a previous post our penchant for Mexican food. WE LOVE IT!!! Today’s recipe that I’m sharing is a chicken flauta. Traditionally, they are baked with no sauce ave the shells crisp up. I added the green enchilada sauce to bring a little spice to the dish and a little moisture. πŸ™‚

I start with a chicken in the crock pot.

I threw on some garlic pepper seasoning. Brings great flavor to slow cooking dishes.

I cooked it on the 6 hour setting. It breaks down the chicken and shreds really nicely.

While that was cooking, I prepared our salsa. I used a can of diced tomatoes and a quarter cup of simply salsa.

Mix those together about an hour before you put this dish together.

So, let’s assemble this dish.

Get two cups of the shredded chicken in a bowl.

Add to it a cup of sour cream.

Next, add a cup of colby Jack cheese along with the prepared salsa.

 add some same and pepper.

Mix together

Now, green enchilada sauce time… Layer some sauce on the bottom of a baking dish.

We are going to assemble our flautas. For these, I used soft taco sized shells. In them, you will need to add about a spoon and a half of mixture.

Spread the mix lengthwise.

And roll them up.

Layer them in the pan.

Put a layer of sauce on them and bake them in the oven at 350Β° for 25 minutes.

Yum, right! I know. 

Plate those bad boys up with some rice and sour cream and you’ve got a great dish!

I hope you enjoy!

Till next time. πŸ™‚

John

The Tastefully Simple guy

For more great recipes, check out http://www.johnbokin.com

4 thoughts on “Chicken Flautas with Green Enchiladas Sauce

Leave a Reply

