Low Sugar Double Chocolate Brownies

A few months ago, I was diagnosed with high sugar. It’s been running pretty high lately and with no change in diet, My doctor and I could not figure out why. Well… with the onset of sugar pills and insulin to stabilize my sugar levels, the remedy has begun. I am doing well, however, I have a crazy sweet tooth. I have pretty much avoided cakes and candies and am always on the lookout for a low sugar snack. Today, I’m going to share with a recipe that will delight and not send your sugar levels through the roof. Double Chocolate Brownies and I came across this recipe from Meals on Wheels. Here is the link if you would like to check it out: via Diabetic Dish of the Week – Double Chocolate Brownies — My Meals are on Wheels

Ingredients:

6 Tbs butter

1/2 cup of unsweetened applesauce

2 large eggs

1 tsp vanilla extract

3/4 cup all purpose flour

24 packets of Equal

1/2 cup semi sweet chocolate chips

6 Tbs unsweetened cocoa

1 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

Add your butter (softened) to a bowl and beat it.

image

Next, add your vanilla, applesauce, and eggs and continue to mix.

image

In another bowl, combine the rest of your ingredients.

image

Mix.

image

Combine with the egg/butter bowl. Mix until completely incorporated.

image

Place in a lightly greased pan.

image

Bake in the oven for 18 – 20 minutes. Once done, put on a wire rack for cooling.

image

Once cooled, cut up and enjoy!

image

I love brownies and this gives me a GREAT option when snack time is calling!

Here is the nutritional breakdown:

Nutritional Information Per Serving (1/16 of recipe; 1 brownie): calories 105; protein 2 g; carbohydrate 10 g; fat 7 g; cholesterol 38 mg; sodium 77 mg.

Well, Happy Monday all and talk with you soon!

John

The Tastefully Simple guy

7 thoughts on “Low Sugar Double Chocolate Brownies

  1. Looks delicious! I love taking dessert recipes and getting the sugar lowered in them — most of the time the additional sugar is not even missed. Great post, and I love the addition of applesauce!

    Like

Leave a Reply

