Linguine with bacon and mushrooms

Hey everyone…

Crazy busy week! Who can resonate with that? I’ll tell ya, if it ain’t one thing it’s another and yes I just used “ain’t.” Lol.

I have a super easy but crazy delicious one for you today. It’s a Linguine with bacon and mushrooms. Only one pic today so if you have questions, let me know. Here goes:

c36fe1767ec7d3bc225bc3a6c90d4bb8

Ingredients:

1 lb Linguine (or fave pasta)

1/2 lb bacon

12 oz mushrooms (your choice)

1/2 cup olive oil

2 med cloves of garlic

1/2 cup parmesan cheese

Start by cooking up your bacon to crispy, then chop up. I used a coarse chop on this as the needles are wide and wanted a chunkier bacon. You can chop it finer if you use angel hair.

While that is cooking, I chop up my mushrooms and sautee them in 2 tbs of butter and 2 tbs of olive oil. I cook them for a=bout 10 minutes to get a nice caramelization on them and eliminate all of the water in the mushrooms.

I also have a pot of salted water going for my pasta. It usually takes about 10 minutes or so for the pasta to cook. And a word about pasta, salt the water good. The pasta picks up the seasoning and you want that taste. And cook to al dente, nothing more. I grew up in a household that served up mushy pasta and trust me there is a HUGE difference in taste between mushy and al dente pasta. Trust me, you will thank me later on this one.

Once the pasta is done, drain and let sit in the colander for a few minutes. Chop up your cooked bacon. Now throw the pasta in a large bowl, throw the bacon on top of it. Add the 1/2 cup of parm cheese.

While that is sitting there, add 1/4 cup of olive oil to the mushrooms and the 2 cloves of garlic and cook for about 2 minutes. DO NOT BURN THE GARLIC. lol. But seriously, don’t. Once done, add to the pasta, bacon, and cheese. Toss. If that’s enough olive oil then plate up and enjoy. If not, add up to another 1/4 cup but no more than. Serve with some good ciabatta bread and enjoy!

Again, please leave any questions or comments below. Feel free to reach out to me at johnbokin2@hotmail.com. Talk with you guys tomorrow!

To your abundance!

John

The Tastefully Simple guy

Leave a Reply

