Stuffed Peppers with Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Hey everybody…

IT’S FRIDAY, FRIDAY!!! Yay! Who’s out there that’s been waiting on the weekend??? I’m sure a few of you because I can’t be the only one. 🙂 We have some great things happening this weekend. Mainly, Halloween and trick or treating with the kiddos. My son is 22 months old and I am soaking up all these little milestones with him. LOVE IT!

Anywho… I have got two killer recipes today that sit in the wheelhouse of comfort food. Just a warning, if you try them, everyone will be raving you because of the deliciousness that you will be bestowing upon your family. Lol.

So, here we go. Let’s start with the stuffed peppers. We are going to take four of them:

20151029_162506

Core them, seed them, wash them off and par boil them for 5 minutes. This cuts down the rawness of the pepper taste when done.

20151029_163139

Once done, just drain them in a colander. I didn’t rinse them in cold water or anything. Just left them there until they were ready to be stuffed.

Our local store had some 93% lean ground meat on sale so I stocked up. This is what I used and it was fantastic. Brown about 1 – 1.5 pounds of said meat.

20151029_163852

Once browned, I threw in a medium-sized sweet onion and cooked for about 5 minutes.

20151029_163918

Then sautéed in 2 chopped cloves of garlic (no pic)

Once the dish is all garlic smelly (Btw, that’s the technical term) throw in one 10 ounce can of rotel tomatoes with green chilies and a half cup of colby jack shredded cheese and mix.

20151029_164634

This bad boy is ready to go into some peppers.

20151029_164739

Fill ‘er up.

20151029_165005

Now, cover with foil and throw into a pre-heated 375 degree oven and cook for 40 minutes. After 40 minutes, remove from oven and cover with a cup and a half of the colby jack cheese and pop back in the oven for 10 minutes. (no pic. yeah, i know. Boo. Hiss) After that, they should be done. Remove from the oven.

Now, onto the sweet potatoes. I cut up 3 – 5 sweet potatoes depending on how large they are. Yesterday’s was 3. Cut then up and throw into a steamer. If you don’t have one, boiling them would be fine (about 15 minutes)

20151029_165305

Add 6 Tbs of butter and 1/3 cup of brown sugar.

20151029_171333

Once the potatoes are done, I steamed mine for 25 minutes, take them out and drop them into the bowl. Use a mixer and mix them up adding milk until you reach your desired consistency. I did not measure the milk. Just added until I liked what I saw.

20151029_173042

Done and done. This meal was delicious. Easy to put together.

20151030_120059

I had a meeting to run to and did not get to eat this last night but the plate you are looking at is a reheated version I had before typing this up. DELISH!

If you have any questions regarding either recipe, feel free to leave a comment. I welcome the feedback or email me at johnbokin2@hotmail.com. Tomorrow will be chicken pot pie. Yummy! Talk with you all soon.

To your abundance!

John

The Tastefully Simple guy

Leave a Reply

